The Definitive EMS Airway Course

  • Learn the full range of airway management techniques — including use of video laryngoscopes & other advanced imaging devices, extraglottic devices, drug-assisted intubation and cricothyrotomy.
  • Work with expert faculty who know the unique challenges facing EMS providers.
  • Use proven airway devices in small group sessions.
  • Practice decision-making and airway techniques in Code AirwayTM simulations.
  • Face the most challenging patient scenarios in a no-risk environment. These include: elevated ICP, pulmonary edema, cardiogenic shock, status asthmaticus foreign body in the airway, direct airway trauma, multiple trauma with shock, and many more.

Didactic and Hands-on Training

  • Prediction of the Difficult Airway
  • Video Laryngoscopy and other advanced imaging devices
  • Medication-assisted Intubation (including RSI and RSA)
  • Pediatric intubation
  • Endotracheal tube introducers (bougie)
  • Cricothyrotomy
  • Extraglottic devices 

Find a course near you

Course Fees:

Course fees vary. Please contact the Authorized Training Center in your area for more information.

Become a Training Center

For further information about becoming an Authorized Training Center please contact Terry T. Steele at 860-679-9285 or tsteele@staging.theairwaysite.com

More Information →

CE/CH Credit

CAPCE 

This CE activity is accredited for 16 Advanced CEH by First Airway LLC, an organization accredited by the Commission on Accreditation for Pre-Hospital Continuing Education (CAPCE). CAPCE Activity #: 20-FAWL-F2-0001. Provider #: FirstAir6610.

ASTNA  

16.0 Contact Hours have been provided by the Air & Surface Transport Nurses Association Certificate #2019-55. ASTNA is an approved provider for the California Board of Registered Nursing CEP 13575.

I attended the course in Houston and found it to be fantastic! It completely exceeded my expectations and turned out to be well worth the trip from Vancouver. The crew in Houston do a wonderful job and besides the valuable learning experience were entertaining as well.
Tyler Keys
Vancouver, British Columbia
Have learnt some incredible skills and techniques that I wish I'd been shown sooner in my career.
Jonathan Search
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom

NCCP Mapping

NCCP National Component Sub Topics Hours Met
Ventilation 2
Capnography 1
Oxygenation 0.5
Central Nervous System (CNS) Injury 1
Fluid Resuscitation 0.5
Medication Delivery 1
Pain Management 1
Crew Resource Management 1
Total Hours Met with The Difficult Airway Course: EMS™ 8

This mapping is based on our assessment of The Difficult Airway Course: EMS and the 2016 NCCP National Component requirements.
For more information about NCCP National Component requirements, please visit https://www.nremt.org/rwd/public/document/nccp.

Regional Course Directors

Name Email Area
Rudy Princi Rudolph.Princi@stonybrookmedicine.edu USA: Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, New York, Massachusetts, Connecticut, Rhode Island
Fred Ellinger fred.ellinger@difficultairway.net USA: Delaware, Washington DC, Maryland, New Jersey, Ohio, Pennsylvania
Michael Keller mkeller@camdeneducation.net USA: Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, West Virginia
Kevin Franklin kmfranklin@mac.com USA: Michigan, Indiana, Illinois, Minnesota, Iowa, Missouri, North Dakota, South Dakota, Nebraska
Cory Cox cory.cox@hsc.utah.edu USA: Washington, Oregon, Nevada, Idaho, Montana, Wyoming, Utah, Colorado, Alaska
Ken Davis ken.davis@emsrx.com USA: Arkansas, Arizona, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Texas

Latin America: Ecuador, Chile, Mexico
James Habstritt james@promedics.org Canada: Alberta, British Columbia, Manitoba, Saskatchewan
Jamie Todd jamie@staging.theairwaysite.com Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Sweden, United Kingdom, Czech Republic, Hungary, Former Yugoslavia (Bosnia, Slovenia, Macedonia, Serbia), Albania, Greece, Turkey, Lithuania, Latvia, Estonia, Romania, Bulgaria and Moldova, Algeria, Israel, Saudi Arabia, South Africa
Estevão Lafuente, MD emlafuente@mac.com Portugal, Spain, Gibraltar, Andorra
John Bastian Etti bastian.etti@med1plus.de Germany, Austria, Switzerland